LY Elects ’13 Interviews: Hannah Bettsworth

Why did you decide to run?
I decided to run because I have experience in organisation and working with others on the Liberal Youth Scotland executive, and I wanted to apply it in an area I’m really passionate about – foreign policy.
What will be your number one priority if elected?
Anyone who knows me will know I actually love human rights. I’ll defend them for ages in arguments with my Daily Mail reader grandparents. So I’m really happy with what we did on Belarus. However, having studied Russia’s transition to democracy this semester, there are some really big issues there, and I think it would be great for us to stand up for our fellow liberals Yabloko and do a protest for real democracy in Russia.

What is the one reason people should vote for you?
Because I’ve got the passion for international issues, and the experience to make sure Liberal Youth can campaign effectively on them.

Where do you want to see the International arm of Liberal Youth doing by this time next year?
I want to see us working more closely with other societies on campuses that may share our aims – for example Amnesty, because we can get more people involved in our events that way and it would be a good way to recruit liberal minded students.
How do you think the Belarus campaign should develop?
That’s really the same answer that I gave above, if I was going to do an event about it (I’m President of Edinburgh University LY) I’d invite Politics Soc and Amnesty Soc members, for example. I think it would be good to try and encourage local branches to do events about the issues in Belarus like Liberty in North Korea did earlier in the semester here. They ran a presentation about the reality of the human rights situation there. So it would be good to raise awareness that way about Belarus.
Hannah Bettsworth is running to be a member of International Committee. You can find out more her and the other candidates here.
All candidates were invited to be interviewed.
Leave a Reply

